New Archive collecting papers and other documents in South Africa

I was just browsing Library Journal and I found this article. With Nelson Mandela’s recent passing, scholars and researchers are coming together to build an archive in Mandela’s memory. I’m not gonna lie, I’m a little jealous of the students at the University of Missouri- can you imagine being a part of this archiving endeavor and seeing documents that will assist researchers and others? South Africa has a tumultuous past and I think it is great that these institutes are coming together to build this archive.

Here’s the link! http://www.infodocket.com/2013/12/09/university-of-missouri-college-of-education-partners-on-digital-archive-to-capture-struggle-against-apartheid/

 

About Kaitlyn Curtis

Stonehill '13, currently at Pratt Institute working to get my MLIS. Moved from Boston to NYC to start the next part of my life and to become my own person. Can't wait to see where this will take me.

One thought on “New Archive collecting papers and other documents in South Africa

  1. Nelson Mandela was beyond any human’s comprehension of giving. His words are famous for helping people everywhere. He famously said, “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate… Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.” It must be a great feeling to be able to work on a project with large historical implications. This is exciting news that I think will allow students to understand Robben Island prison, and more importantly, this digitization will help keep Mandela’s history present. I think history, sociology, philosophy, and political science majors both undergraduate and masters level will greatly appreciate this archive for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

