Chowdhury – Chapter 3 – Entities and their Relationships

I think the visualization tables in this chapter helped me understand this part of the book more than other parts that I’ve read. It’s fascinating that the FRBR model is designed with so much care, especially since so many people take it for granted. The implication that an organization system can be written to find not only books, but all other types of media/data related to the query or key words is pretty astounding. (It reminds me of a quote from a TV show I just saw: “It’s not magic, it’s talent and sweat!”) Now that I’m learning more about these systems and reading this book I’m finding out just how much work and complexity goes into creating the system that helped high school me find Shakespeare’s Hamlet in book form at the library, but also the movie for when I inevitably don’t read the entire thing in time.

I actually see a bit of a correlation between this model and how search engines like Google work, and it would be interesting to look into that a bit more. I’m sure that the FRBR model and others had a lot to do with how internet organization was being then, and nowadays they probably equally influence one another. (I’m sure I’ll learn more about this when we read the chapter on metadata for next week!)

Leave a Reply

