Final Project Proposal

Name: Heather Whittaker

Group Members: Michele Edwards and Heather Whittaker

Topic: “Radical” cataloging

I am interested because: I initially was interested in this subject based on name alone, but as I’ve researched it more I’ve found it’s a very important topic in the study of information science and not one that I knew about at all before this class. It had never occurred to be that a system of organization could be so biased but after some preliminary research I’ve seen that it does happen all over the place.

Resources:

Drabinski, E. (April 01, 2013). Queering the Catalog: Queer Theory and the Politics of Correction. Library Quarterly, 83, 2, 94-111.

Roberto, K. R., & Berman, S. (2008). Radical cataloging: Essays at the front. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Co.

“Archives of RADCAT@LISTSERV.UGA.EDU.” Archives of RADCAT@LISTSERV.UGA.EDU. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Feb. 2014. <http://www.listserv.uga.edu/archives/radcat.html&gt;.

Focus Abstract: In my paper I will be focusing on how radical cataloging practice has been integrated into mainstream libraries. How radical librarians solved problems with organizing certain materials and data at their own institutions and then helped their colleagues implement these changes themselves. (This is why a listserv archive is included with my potential sources.)

Leave a Reply

