What is FRBR?

I appreciate this post on FRBR as a more detailed explanation of what FRBR exactly is.  Although we have been discussing FRBR in class, this post gave an in-depth description of aspects such as entities, relationships, and roles.  By seeing the aspects and relationships charted out with illustrations, I can better associate in my head the details.  I was most surprised by the idea of bibliographic relationships, especially the derivative relationships between subjects.  From what I understand, this idea consists of modifications between the original work and the new work, but even by studying the chart the idea seems hard to nail down when deciding on cataloging.  I definitely feel as though this article clarifies some basic questions I had about FRBR, but I still need a lot more practice!

Leave a Reply

