Anna Murphy, Response #1

Cataloging

Reading about the exhaustive work that goes into cataloging makes me appreciate not only the work of librarians, but the ability of patrons to implicitly do this classification work themselves. When I was studying film, I got to know a particular section of the library. As my studies progressed and my interests focused, that section narrowed to a few shelves that I was constantly perusing for inspiration. Occasionally I would find something awesome on a totally random shelf next to things I had no interest in, but generally the topics I loved loved each other, so to speak, and lived close to one another. The Chowhudry readings have made me realize that the library classification and cataloging systems are clearly designed with the user in mind and I have a new appreciation for the work that goes into keeping that system alive.

Leave a Reply

