Response 1: Scarlett Taylor

While I found Taylor and Joudrey’s article, “Cataloging,” to be a nice general introduction to cataloging terms, processes and considerations, its description of XML particularly stood out to me. Granted, this is because I have quite a bit of this kind of internet coding experience; however, I do not have experience, or really much knowledge of, using XML for cataloging purposes. This section of the article struck me as cumbersome. For me, it did not connect cataloging and XML really at all, so the description of the development and pros and cons of XML versus HTML lacked focus. I would have liked to have seen a more detailed discussion about the shortcomings of MARC that XML addresses, rather than such detail about where XML comes from. I realize that the article does somewhat address that, but I feel like it was bogged down and could have been better developed. I had also expected this article, which was published in 2009, to address more digital considerations, but I am not knowledgeable enough on the subject to evaluate whether they did a sufficient job.

By contrast, Levy’s “Cataloging in the Digital Order,” published in 1995, addresses nothing but the digital considerations of that time. This article highlighted that change is very slow, as 20 years later the most obvious change in the current environment/scholarship on the subject of digital reference is that no one says “the Net” anymore. The overarching questions of this article, how to catalog new digital information, what new types of information will there even be in  the future, are constants in librarianship. While we now address different kinds of materials than Levy did at this time, with a particular eye on social media (I guess the Library of Congress will probably need a system of cataloging that Twitter archive), we have the same concerns now.

Leave a Reply

