Weekly Post 1# Maureen McElroy

I found the information presented through the readings to be straight forward: history of, purpose, need, future of digital.If anything it provided a a better explanation for myself as to why I find this really interesting and why I studying this.  What is the sense of having information if it is not organized in a way that can be located or reviewed.

I found the article from Levy, Cataloging in the Digital Order to be really interesting.  At times i found some of his statements a little dated but still relevant. I kept going back to the part where the quote from Will Manley’s  from “Cataloger’s, We Hardly Know ye”:–I agree with Levy that is was a bit tongue and cheek–I get that.  I do find Levy questioning of this work is often performed by “women or other under-recognized groups”  slightly annoying.

Leave a Reply

