Maureen McElroy Response 3

So I will be completely honest–was not quite sure what metadata was.

I knew its was important– it has been mentioned in other classes and readings plus there is a whole class on it.  I was a little intimidated by her, Metadata, kind of like the girl that makes you feel inferior–she has done nothing to you but you always feel a little uneasy when her name is mentioned.  So I went into the reading thinking: I will finally understand her or hate her more.  So I am happy to report that I have a much better understanding of her (turns out she just had “resting bitch face”).

The first line of Gilliland’s article: explains it all or at least makes easier for me to wrap head around it:  “data about data.”  I liked this article because it really broke things down in a simple way.  I do have some questions about museum and archivial metadata that I will ask about in class.

As far as Dublin Core, I think I am going to have to see it in action or have it better explained.

I like the stuff we are learning–MARC, Dublin Core, etc.–probably because I really like things to have a process and an order to it.

Leave a Reply

