Project Proposal – Scarlett Taylor

Name: Scarlett Taylor
My group has chosen: Non-Western Cataloging Systems
I am interested in this topic because: I am interested in anything that challenges our ethnocentricity in this country.

Useful Sources:

Berman, S. (1993). Prejudices and antipathies: a tract on LC subject heads concerning people, Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland.

Exner, F. and Little Bear. (2008). North American Indian Personal Names in National Bibliographies . In: Radical Cataloging: Essays at the Front. Roberto, K. R. (Ed.). Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland.

Webster, K. and A. Doyle. (2008). Don’t class me in antiquities! Giving voice to Native American
materials. In: Radical Cataloging: Essays at the Front. Roberto, K. R. (Ed.). Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland.

Based on my preliminary research, I have chosen to focus on the following aspect of our group topic: 

I wanted to focus on radical cataloging in the context of non-western cataloging systems because, honestly, I wanted us to do radical cataloging as a topic. My research mostly uncovered issues non-“Western” (I believe that our definition of “Western” is so narrow that Native Americans do not fit into it) communities have with Western cataloging, rather than alternative systems. Based on this research, I don’t believe that I will have to narrow my topic to one area or culture, as at this time I am unable to find enough scholarship on any one such area. I would like to read more about other systems, and connect that to this social justice aware critique of our cataloging systems, perhaps looking at how/if they address some of those concerns.

Leave a Reply

